Author Topic: Summer calling  (Read 5710 times)

Offline Tom Stohler

• PPHA Members
  • Junior Forum Member
Summer calling
« on: February 23, 2016, 08:52:17 PM »
Does everyone change your calling tactics and if you do what's the change

Offline Rookie furtaker

• Junior Forum Member
Re: Summer calling
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2016, 09:30:35 PM »
Good thread Tom! Was wondering this the other day since I'm new to the sport. Does bug spray effect coyotes? If so what do people use for tick and nat defense cause nothing can be more annoying than pesky mosquitoes

Offline Huntin 4 yotes

• PPHA officers.
  • PPHA Forum GURU
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2016, 10:07:47 PM »
I use fawn distress most of the time right after there born, then in late summer fawn distress mixed with some coyote pup whimpers and crys or pup distress

Offline Hern

• PPHA Members
  • PPHA Forum GURU
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2016, 11:38:48 AM »
I will get a call or three each summer to remove nuisance Coyotes.
I want to work close to the den or within ear shot of den.
I look for farm lanes, mowed hay field, or anything that's not overgrown to setup and watch this area. I prefer the sun in my face or to my side, but setup in the shadows.
Weeds, brush and trees are in full growth, so setting up to see what is approaching can be a challenge.
I pre-scout these nuisance areas and make a plan, A, B & C. Planning out your hunt is a must to be successful to remove one livestock killer or a family of two or three adults and several pups.
This is the hardest hunting I do. By that, am not after fur and calling many spots in many areas today, but focusing on removing one animal or a group living at one spot. Pressure is on, property owner wants results and so on. This will test your metal.

If you just want to hunt Coyote and not after a livestock killer, you can use the above info to fit your needs.