Author Topic: NEW TO COYOTE HUNITNG  (Read 2010 times)

Offline turkeyhunter94

NEW TO COYOTE HUNITNG
« on: February 04, 2010, 03:23:17 PM »
Hi Im just getting started coyote hunting.  I live in Cambria county and heard from a friend who has dogs that if your lucky you only call in 1 yote a year I just have a hard time believing this.  Any input will help from calls to places to hunt.

Offline Lookn4Fur

• PPHA Forum GURU
Re: NEW TO COYOTE HUNITNG
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 05:20:13 PM »
Not to many people are going to tell you where to hunt, they don't want to give up thier spots.  The best thing to do would be to knock on the farmers doors and ask if they are seeing anything and get permision if possible.  Then you have to do a lot of scouting.  Odds will vary from year to year.  There are a lot more coyotes called in than are spotted.  Getting a shot on one is a whole different ball game.  As far as call go, get a bulb squeaker and some closed reed calls and practice different distress calls.  Stay away from coyote vocalization until you understand the sounds and when to use them.  Get out and put the work in a before you know you will be a coyote hunter.  Not sure if you are a member here or not but, the members here are very knowledgable.  Some will even take you out and show you the ropes if you are in thier area.  We have regular hunts and give away nice prizes.  Hope to see you at an event sometime.  Good Luck...........Tim
"Predators are either active & feeding, semi-active & callable, or utterly inactive & then practically speaking, no call is needed; we're just taking our guns for a walk. We can & should get used to it, & follow their leed cuz they just ain't eager nor apt to follow our’s any time soon!

uncle buck

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 05:34:21 PM »