Author Topic: Ammo/ rifle Question  (Read 4484 times)

Offline matt12

Ammo/ rifle Question
« on: January 20, 2014, 08:48:02 PM »
I'm new to predator hunting and was wounder what everyones opinion on a good but not to expensive bolt action in .223 would be. All i have now is a rem 700 in 30-06 and a .22lr. none of which are good for predators. 30-06 will work but i want the pelt lol Also is .223 ok for fox? i know its a good yote round but is it excessive for them? What would be a good all around long range caliber be? 22-250? also aside from that question, is anyone taking yotes down cleanly with the .17WSM? I live in Allegheny county and am limited to rimfire.
Thanks in advance for any help!

Offline shadowchaser

• Seasoned Forum Member
Re: Ammo/ rifle Question
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2014, 10:40:24 PM »
I have no experience with the .17 WSM other then through research and second hand.  The January edition of Predator Nation has an article called Texas Shootout.  They are using the .17 WSM for coyotes and the author says 7 coyotes were killed with it.  Quick bullet points.

None went further than 75 yards after hit.
One, a 17 lb female shot at 118 yards dropped in its tracks with a 25 grain center chest shot.
Six shots were under 100 yards.
The author claims 2,600 fps with 375 ft/lb energy and states its 60 more than any .22 Mag.

My personal opinion is that Eastern Coyotes are bigger animals and much more difficult to bring down.  I believe that under 100 yds and a perfect shot you would be ok, but you will be tracking.  Another opinion is that the .22 mag is a much better rimfire for coyotes.  I've never heard anyone say a .22 mag wasn't ok for coyotes.  The thing is that it needs to be a good shot and at a reasonable distance.