Author Topic: Calling Tips  (Read 4995 times)

Offline greenspace

Calling Tips
« on: December 21, 2005, 12:39:30 PM »
Hi Folks,

I'm a long-time hunter, but I've only been at predator (red fox) hunting for a couple of years.  After reading a lot about it on the web, I'm esssentially self taught, usually using rabbit distress and/or a whining reed call held between teeth that my wife bought somewhere.   I've had some success, but know I can do better.  So far this year, I've only called in one, and I missed a quick shot at him!

I'd like to improve my calling technique and variety.  Looking for really good instructions, geared primarily towards fox.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks

PS:  Anyone aware of any coyotes in SE Chester County?  I haven't come across any in my home area yet.

Offline bigben

• PPHA Members
  • PPHA Forum GURU
Calling Tips
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2005, 03:33:26 PM »
get yourself a bulb squeker and try that out at all your stands before anything else.  this is so you will get that close one.  make sure you are not too loud.  also do you hunt at night or during the day
“If you want to know all about a man, go camping with him. Probably you think you know him already, but if you have never camped on the trail with him, you do not”. Eldred Nathaniel Woodcock. “Fifty Years a Hunter and Trapper.”

Offline Tracker

• Senior Forum Member
    • http://www.huntnpa.com
Calling Tips
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2005, 10:09:38 PM »
Keep it simple.
How are you going about it now?
Try to ask more specific questions.
hyp⋅o⋅crite: a person who feigns some desirable or publicly approved attitude, esp. one whose private life, opinions, or statements belie his or her public statements.
Synonyms: deceiver, dissembler, pretender, pharisee, phony.

Offline greenspace

Thanks for replys
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2005, 08:07:04 AM »