Author Topic: Another attempt at making a call  (Read 3092 times)

Offline Lifes2fun

• PPHA Forum GURU
Another attempt at making a call
« on: February 08, 2009, 07:23:16 PM »
Made another hand call.
This one is made out of Purple Heartwood.....I really like the color of it, and think I'm gonna try some different designs out of the rest of the wood I have left.

THIS IS SPARTA!!

Offline muttbuster

• PPHA Forum GURU
Re: Another attempt at making a call
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 07:31:47 PM »
Very nice. How do they sound? Where did you learn how to make calls and how long did it take?
President PPHA

Offline Lifes2fun

• PPHA Forum GURU
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2009, 07:51:27 PM »
Thank you...I think they sound great. Basically voiced with the same closed distress reed many call makers use.
I am still learning...I am lucky enough to have a good friend that builds calls and back around Christmas I asked him to make 2 for me to give as presents.
His reply...come over...pick your wood, and build them yourself  ;D
Well I made a crow call out of Chiro(I think its what its called) and a distress out of Osage Orange.
Both turned out rather nice (well in my opinion at least)

So I bought some wood of my own rather than scarfing his stock....lol

And he still answers my questions while I'm working, but he has all the tools and equipment.
This one took about 4 1/2 hours...but it was a grainy wood that required a good bit of sanding and finish.
Plus I was trying to help him with some stuff also.

The Osage Orange one I made for my father in law for Christmas, only took me about an hour....that sanded rather easily.

I'm not making these to sell or anything....just found one more thing to occupy my mind and I love making them. So figure they will make great additions to my collections and maybe add soem to a few of my friends collections that have helped me out since beginning predator hunting.
THIS IS SPARTA!!

Offline muttbuster

• PPHA Forum GURU