Author Topic: Grey Fox  (Read 2791 times)

Offline curious

Grey Fox
« on: January 15, 2007, 09:50:49 PM »
I am new to hunting the grey fox, and I would like to ask some questions.  Our setup consist of starting out the hunt right before dark.  We set up in the woods.  Several attempts have been made to call in a grey fox, but no luck so far.  We are camofloged.

The second type of hunt consist of finding a path or dirt road, placing the call by our feet and scaning with the red light.  Still no luck.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks.

Offline Ringtail

Grey Fox
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 10:05:02 PM »
Gray fox are not as smart as a coyote, but neat little critters. Gray fox are much easier to call at night then in the day. At night camo is not necessary, not even necessary in the day if you don't move much. What sounds are you using? Are you sure gray fox are in the area?

Offline Hern

• PPHA Members
  • PPHA Forum GURU
Grey Fox
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2007, 05:42:37 AM »
Call'n Grey Fox....
Use Grey Fox Pup sounds
Keep behind red lens
Keep red light on at all times
Keep scan'n for eyes

Some folks say when call'n IN woods or brushy areas the light will cast a shadow and things won't appear natural to critters. You may be shook'n 'em.
This may not be the case because many a critter has be killed in the woods.
Many areas of the state, the best setup is the woods or on a log'n road or power line.
My guess why you had no response, the Greys are not there or weren't in hear'n distance or weren't interested.
Do you know Greys are there?

I do like to call at night, from a clearing or field, standing in the open, for the most part.
I scan the intended approach routes, staying behind my red lens.

Grey Fox are bringing $30-$33 at most fur sales.
Folks are hitting Greys hard this season and maybe your area has been called or trapped this late in the season.
Do some scout'n.

Offline curious

Grey Fox
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2007, 03:30:36 PM »