Author Topic: tips for tracking, anyone have some?  (Read 14790 times)

Offline scott

• PPHA Forum GURU
tips for tracking, anyone have some?
« on: October 11, 2007, 07:48:02 AM »
Feel like typing this morning, maybe it is the rain and the cool weather we are getting.   i am new to predator hunting and this will be my first year of trapping, so i do not have a lot to offer on those subjects but i can on others:  

No matter how good of shot you or your buddy are, it is only going to be a matter of time before you hit a deer and the shot will not be the best.   i it a very bad feeling to hit one and not be able to find it, but practice and what you do after the shot can help in the recovery or a second shot.  

when hunting small game or walking in the woods, if you jump a deer watch it and see where it runs, then go down to the area and try and track the animal as far as you can.  after awhile you will learn how to track them pretty far just by looking for kicked up leaves and what their tendencies are.  deer are a creature of habit and most of time they will do the same things.   i you do hit one and do not recover it, keep going back to the area until you do find it, watch for crows.  once you do find it try and trace its steps back and see if you can figure anything out.

things i have learned:   deer hit will go uphill,  if you hit one and think it was not so good let them go for as long as possible, they are much harder to find after you jump them.   be as quiet as possible when tracking and always look for them ahead of you, do not get so tied up on the blood trail and always looking down.  always carry toilet paper with you, when you find blood put a peice on the ground.  when you loose the blood trail start doing figure 8's in all directions for about 50 yards before you get on your hands and knees.

Offline bigben

• PPHA Members
  • PPHA Forum GURU
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2007, 08:40:51 AM »